Next stable release?

May 12, 2012 at 10:35 PM
Edited May 14, 2012 at 6:37 PM

Hi,

I've been using Jurassic for a few months and am pretty impressed. This is a great piece of work and I'm happy to be able to include it in a number of projects.

I was curious as to when the next stable release would be out? The most current one is from the beginning of last year, and I am having trouble getting the unit tests to run against libraries when I try to build them from the most recent source code...

EDIT:

The main reason I'm interested in building from the source is that I would like to have an x64 build that targets the .NET 4.0 framework so I can roll this into an Azure project I'm working on.

Thanks,

Russ

May 14, 2012 at 6:28 PM
Edited May 14, 2012 at 6:28 PM

Second that! It's hard to look a gift horse in the mouth, but this project continues to tantalize me as a holy grail of sorts that is just out of reach. The ability to run javascript natively in a .NET app would open up so many possibilities for creating clean, integrated testing tools, but there are just a couple tiny little shortcomings in Jurassic (lack of being able to run pre-compiled code being the biggest one) that put it out of reach. And the speed of execution is NOT one of those problems, it runs fast enough for my purposes. It's just the compile speed that makes it unworkable. (In most real-world applications that I have in mind, most scripts are relatively static, but at takes way too long to compile everything every single time I restart a C# app).

As someone who has way too many projects of their own that I can't keep up with, of course, I completely understand when life gets in the way of such things. It's just too bad it hasn't had that last little push over the finish line.

And so I will continue to hack in the V8 engine instead... 

Coordinator
May 14, 2012 at 10:53 PM